Hey whats up guys.

Hello, blogosphere!

First of all, I’d like to introduce myself.  My name is Dillon, I’m 25 years old, and I live a double life.  By day, I’m a mild-mannered preschool teacher…but in the deepest cover of afternoon, I’m a mild-mannered student at Towson University!  I usually sleep at night.

Second, I’d like to apologize for calling you a blogosphere.  I didn’t mean that.  I’m sorry.  You’re not a blogosphere.

This blog is going to be primarily addressing live music and local (Baltimore-based) bands, and at time, even local bands playing live locally…but what are the odds of a Baltimore band playing in Baltimore?

There are, of course, already several blogs addressing the same topics as this one, most notably Aural States and The Baltimore Taper, but I hope to add a new perspective.  Both of these blogs are, of course, extremely impressive, but also somewhat specific: Aural States focuses almost exclusively on indie rock, while the Taper’s focus is audio recordings of live concerts.  Both important facets of a scene, but neither comprehensive.

I do not wish to be comprehensive.  This would be beyond me.  But I will offer a new voice to the dialog.  I hope you like it.

4 Responses to “Hey whats up guys.”

  1. Sounds really interesting. I can’t wait to read it!

  2. Aural States Says:

    actually we’ve got a huge diversity of content, including prominent electronic and classical coverage.

    our coverage can really only be termed indie rock in that it is almost all “independent” artists. in reality, the styles we cover vary wildly from punk and heavy metal to folk and experimental noise (check out the range of styles represented in our recommended albums). it’s more than a bit frustrating that it takes so long for people to realize the eclecticism of content we have.

    in any case, good luck with your efforts. i’m curious to see how different your coverage ends up from ours! if you need pictures for your celebration review, check our flickr. we were there.

  3. dillonator Says:

    wow. you are absolutely right. my sincerest apologies.

    though you wouldn’t know it by my analysis of it, i AM a follower of aural states, and i’m well aware of your content eclecticism (most notably your frequent coverage of classical music).

    i suppose when i said “indie rock” i meant “indie music,” and when i said “almost exclusively,” i meant “mostly.” i chose the phrase “indie rock” out of, in retrospect, laziness? and i don’t even know why i chose “almost exclusively.” i even looked over that line and reconsidered, but specifically opted to keep it for some reason. maybe to make MY eclecticism more impressive? not a good reason.

    i feel terrible for having pigeon-holed you, please know it was unintentional and was not meant as a slight; i now see how insulting that half-sentence review is. i have nothing but the greatest respect for aural states: you didn’t win City Paper’s BoB for nothing.

    call it a youthful indiscretion (it was literally my first ever blogpost), and i hope you accept this apology.

    ps- yes… i know you were at celebration. i read your review the day you posted it. it was much better than mine.

    but im sure you knew that.

  4. no worries, just starting a conversation!

    i’m curious about your rams head internship and what you’ve been tasked with. email me or write a post about it!

    –Greg

Leave a Reply

